Home > Side dish > Onion Bhaji

Onion Bhaji

Onion bhajis are prepared similarly to the previous pakora.

I took an onion, chopped it up and threw it into a bowl.

Then added the spices:

  • 1/2 teaspoon each of cumin, coriander, turmeric and garam masala
  • 1/3 teaspoon of Kashmir chilli powder
  • 1 finely chopped chilli without the seeds

Sieved what looked a good amount of gram flour and mixed it up by hand, adding small amounts of water until I had what I felt was the right consistency of batter.

I heated about half my stirfry pan filled with groundnut oil and started adding large dessert spoonfuls of bhajee to the oil. I had a few false starts getting the temperature right and didn’t really have enough oil to do the job right.

Once things stabilised I got eight bhajees from my single onion which I split with the folks. Turned out very well for a first attempt.

Categories: Side dish Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

